Highway 1, the Trans Canada Highway, runs from the West Coast to the East Coast of Canada. The main route spans 8030 KM (4990 miles) and is one of the longest national highways in the world.





Trans Canada Highway 1

The Trans-Canada Highwayis a transcontinential federal-provincial highway system that travels through all ten provinces of Canada between its Pacific Ocean and Atlantic Ocean coasts to the west and east respectively. It is one of the world's longest national highways, with the main route spanning 8,030 km (4,990 mi). The system was approved by the Trans-Canada Highway Act of 1949, with construction commencing in 1950.The highway officially opened in 1962, and was completed in 1971. The highway system is recognizable by its distinctive white-on-green maple leaf route markers.

Throughout much of Canada, there are at least two routes designated as part of the Trans-Canada Highway. For example, in the western provinces, both the main Trans-Canada route and the Yellowhead Highway are part of the Trans-Canada system. Though the system does not enter either of Canada's three northern territories or provide a connection to the United States to the south, the Trans-Canada Highway forms part of Canada's overall national highway system that provides connections to both the Northwest Territories and Yukon as well as numerous connections to the United States.


British Columbia

The Trans-Canada Highway has no official starting point, but Victoria, the capital of British Columbia, is the westernmost city on the highway. Victoria is located very near the Pacific Ocean at the southern tip of Vancouver Island. Travelers can drive north to Nanaimo, and then cross the Strait of Georgia by ferry to reach Vancouver and the mainland of Canada. The highway crosses British Columbia. In the eastern part of the province, the Trans-Canada Highway travels through the city of Kamloops, the Columbia River, Rogers Pass, and three national parks - Mount Revelstoke, Glacier, and Yoho. 





The Trans-Canada Highway enters Alberta at Banff National Park, located in the Rocky Mountains. Banff, the oldest national park in Canada, is home to Lake Louise. Banff's Kicking Horse Pass, located in the Continental Divide, is the highest point on the Trans-Canada Highway, at 1643 meters (5,390 feet, above one mile in elevation). Calgary, the largest city in Alberta, is the next major destination on the Trans-Canada Highway. The highway travels through Medicine Hat, Alberta, before entering Saskatchewan.



In Saskatchewan, the Trans-Canada Highway travels through the cities of Swift Current, Moose Jaw, and Regina, the capital of the province.

The expansive prairies seem to go on forever with the wide open skies.



In Manitoba, travelers drive through the cities of Brandon, Portage la Prairie, and Winnipeg, the capital of Manitoba.



In Ontario, the Trans-Canada Highway passes through the cities of Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, and North Bay. However, the highway does not pass through the region around Toronto, which is Canada's most heavily populated region. Toronto is located farther south than the main highway route. The highway straddles the border with Quebec and reaches Ottawa, the capital of Canada. 


In Quebec, a province which is mostly French-speaking, the Trans-Canada Highway eases access to Montreal, the second largest city in Canada. Quebec City, Quebec's capital, is located slightly north of the Trans-Canada Highway, across the St. Lawrence River. The Trans-Canada Highway turns west at the city of Riviere-du-Loup and enters New Brunswick. 


Maritime Provinces

The Trans-Canada Highway continues into the Canadian Maritime Provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. In New Brunswick, the highway reaches Fredericton, the capital of the province, and Moncton. The Bay of Fundy, home to the world's highest tides, is located in this region. At Cape Jourimain, travelers can take the Confederation Bridge over the Northumberland Strait and reach Prince Edward Island, the smallest Canadian province by area and population. Charlottetown is the capital of Prince Edward Island.

 South of Moncton, the highway enters Nova Scotia. The highway does not reach Halifax, Nova Scotia's capital. At North Sydney, Nova Scotia, travelers can take a ferry to the island of Newfoundland.